KAHF accreditation: the tier above registration in South Korea
Registration lets a Korean clinic treat foreign patients. KAHF is the stricter tier above it, assessed on patient safety as well as service.
- Author
- Aesthetics Korea Editorial Team
- Medical review
- Not required
- Published
- 8 September 2026
- Last updated
- 8 September 2026
- Last reviewed
- —4 min read
Short answer
What is KAHF accreditation and how is it different from registration?
KAHF is South Korea's accreditation programme for institutions serving foreign patients, and it sits above the basic registration every such clinic must hold. An institution must already carry KOIHA healthcare accreditation before it can be assessed, and it is then measured against 44 criteria on foreign-patient management and 92 criteria on patient safety. The accredited institutions are published as a list, and it is short.
Key facts
- What it is
- Accreditation tier above the mandatory foreign-patient registration
- Prerequisite
- The institution must already hold KOIHA healthcare accreditation
- Foreign-patient criteria
- 44, covering attraction and management of foreign patients, including interpretation
- Patient-safety criteria
- 92, covering patient safety, medication management, infection control and facilities
- Programme history
- Pilot 2016, first cycle 2017–2018, currently the fourth cycle 2023–2026
- Renamed
- Became the "Evaluation and Certification System" in December 2022
What the rule is
South Korea runs two layers of oversight for institutions treating foreign patients, and they do different jobs. The first is registration, which is compulsory: a clinic may not treat foreign patients as a business without it. The second is accreditation under the Korean Accreditation Program for Hospitals serving Foreign patients — KAHF — which is voluntary, considerably harder to obtain, and assessed on things registration never looks at.
The gap between them is the useful part. Registration asks whether an institution has met a set of administrative conditions. Accreditation asks how it actually operates.
What is assessed
An institution is measured against two sets of criteria:
- 44 criteria on the attraction and management of foreign patients, including interpretation.
- 92 criteria on patient safety, covering medication management, infection control and facilities.
Before any of that, the institution must already hold accreditation from the Korea Institute for Healthcare Accreditation (KOIHA), the domestic healthcare accreditation body. That prerequisite is why the accredited list is short.
The programme began as a pilot in 2016 and ran its first cycle in 2017–2018. It was renamed the Evaluation and Certification System in December 2022, and is currently in its fourth cycle, running 2023 to 2026.
How to check it yourself
The accredited institutions are published as a list on the programme page on Medical Korea, linked below. There is no separate search tool — the page is the list.
Two cautions when you read it. First, the list is short: 17 institutions when we checked. Second, the programme page does not state how long an accreditation remains valid, so the currently published list is the authority, not a certificate a clinic shows you with a date on it.
What it does not tell you
Accreditation is a hospital-shaped instrument, and most aesthetic treatment in South Korea happens in small clinics. A single-doctor skin clinic in Gangnam is very unlikely to hold KOIHA accreditation, and therefore cannot hold KAHF accreditation either. Absence from this list is not evidence of anything.
So the honest use of KAHF is not as a shortlist. It is as a published statement of what South Korea's own regulator considers to be the components of safe care for a foreign patient — interpretation, medication management, infection control, facilities — which you can then ask an unaccredited clinic about directly:
- who will interpret during the consultation and the procedure, and are they a member of staff;
- how the clinic records what product and what dose was used on you;
- what its infection-control procedure is for injectables and for devices that break the skin;
- what happens if you have a complication after you have flown home.
Those are the accreditation criteria, translated into questions a patient can actually ask.
Registration and accreditation, side by side
It helps to hold the two apart, because clinic marketing tends to blur them into a single claim of being "certified for foreign patients".
Registration is compulsory, granted on administrative conditions including malpractice liability insurance, and held by thousands of institutions. It answers the question may this clinic treat me at all?
Accreditation is voluntary, granted after assessment against 136 criteria in total, conditional on holding KOIHA accreditation first, and held by a handful of institutions. It answers a different question: has an outside body examined how this institution actually handles patients like me?
A clinic that says it is "government registered" has told you it cleared the first bar. That is worth confirming, and it is not what accreditation means.
If something is wrong
Neither registration nor accreditation is a complaints channel. South Korea's statutory route for a medical dispute runs through a separate agency, outside the courts, and it is open to patients regardless of whether the institution was accredited.
The bottom line
KAHF is South Korea's accreditation tier above the mandatory registration, requiring KOIHA accreditation first and assessing 44 foreign-patient criteria and 92 patient-safety criteria. The accredited list is published and short, and almost no small aesthetic clinic will be on it. Use the criteria as your questions rather than the list as your shortlist.
Frequently asked questions
- Does my clinic need KAHF accreditation to treat me legally?
- No. Registration is the legal requirement; KAHF is voluntary accreditation on top of it. A registered clinic without KAHF accreditation is operating lawfully.
- Why are so few institutions accredited?
- Because the entry condition is demanding. An institution has to hold KOIHA healthcare accreditation before it can even be assessed, and KOIHA accreditation is oriented towards hospitals rather than small clinics. The list published on the programme page was 17 institutions when we checked it.
- Most skin clinics are small. Does this help me at all?
- Indirectly, and it is worth being honest about that. Very few single-doctor aesthetic clinics will ever appear on this list, so absence from it is not a warning sign. Its value is as a benchmark: it tells you which things South Korea's own regulator thinks matter — interpretation, medication management, infection control — and those are the questions to put to a clinic that is not accredited.
- How long does accreditation last?
- The programme page does not state a validity period. The programme runs in multi-year cycles, currently 2023 to 2026, so check the currently published list rather than a certificate date.
- Where is the list of accredited institutions?
- It is published inline on the accreditation programme page on Medical South Korea, linked in the sources below. There is no separate search tool for it.
Sources
Listed in the order they are used. Source class follows the methodology.
- 1.Accreditation Program for hospitals serving foreign patients, Medical Korea (Korea Health Industry Development Institute)Government / public bodyaccessed 2026-09-08States the two assessment sets (44 foreign-patient criteria, 92 patient-safety criteria), the KOIHA prerequisite, the programme cycles from the 2016 pilot to the fourth cycle 2023–2026, the December 2022 rename, and publishes the accredited institutions inline (17 at the time of checking).
- 2.Registration System for foreign patient attraction institutions, Medical Korea (Korea Health Industry Development Institute)Government / public bodyaccessed 2026-09-08The mandatory registration tier that accreditation sits above.
- 3.Korean Accreditation program Hospitals for serving Foreign patients (KAHF), Korea Tourism OrganizationGovernment / public bodyaccessed 2026-09-08